49ers rest the regulars in exhibition finale

49ers rest the regulars in exhibition finale
August 28, 2014, 5:30 pm
Share This Post

Colin Kaepernick finished the 2014 exhibition season 12-of-22 for 115 yards. (AP)

Programming note: For comprehensive 49ers-Texans postgame coverage, tune in to SportsNet Central tonight at 10:30 p.m. and midnight on Comcast SportsNet Bay Area

HOUSTON –- The B-Team took the field for the 49ers’ in the exhibition finale Thursday night against the Houston Texans.

Only three of the team’s presumptive starters for the regular-season opener were in the 49ers’ starting lineup.

Quarterback Blaine Gabbert got the starting assignment in place of Colin Kaepernick. Coach Jim Harbaugh said Kaepernick would play in the final exhibition game, but he did not follow-through, as he wanted to take no chances before the 49ers' regular-season opener Sept. 7 against the Dallas Cowboys.

[RELATED: Projecting the 49ers' 53-man roster]

Center Daniel Kilgore and right guard Joe Looney were the only projected starters who opened the game for the 49ers on offense.

Kaepernick, Frank Gore, Vernon Davis, Anquan Boldin, Michael Crabtree, Joe Staley and Mike Iupati were among the 49ers regulars who did not see any action. Also, veteran receiver Brandon Lloyd did not suit up.

Nose tackle Ian Williams was the only projected starter who was in the starting lineup.

The 49ers defenders who did not play were: Defensive linemen Justin Smith and Ray McDonald, linebacker Ahmad Brooks, Aldon Smith, Patrick Willis and Michael Wilhoite, cornerbacks Chris Culliver and Tramaine Brock, and safeties Antoine Bethea and Eric Reid.

Wide receiver: Stevie Johnson
Left tackle: Carter Bykowski
Left guard: Adam Snyder
Center: Daniel Kilgore
Right guard: Joe Looney
Right tackle: Jonathan Martin
Tight end: Vance McDonald
Wide receiver: Quinton Patton
Second tight end: Derek Carrier
Running back: LaMichael James
Quarterback: Blaine Gabbert

Left defensive tackle: Tony Jerod-Eddie
Nose tackle: Ian Willliams
Right defensive tackle: Demarcus Dobbs
Outside linebacker: Chase Thomas
Inside linebacker: Nick Moody
Inside linebacker: Chris Borland
Outside linebacker: Corey Lemonier
Left cornerback: Chris Cook
Right cornerback: Darryl Morris
Safety: C.J. Spillman
Safety: Craig Dahl