Boldin's charity wins NFLPA Byron 'Whizzer' White Award

Boldin's charity wins NFLPA Byron 'Whizzer' White Award
March 20, 2014, 9:00 am
Share This Post

Anquan Boldin becomes the first 49ers player to win the award. (AP)

Wide receiver Anquan Boldin’s charitable foundation received a $100,000 boost on Thursday.

The NFL Players Association announced an award of $100,000 to the Anquan Boldin Foundation for winning the Byron “Whizzer” White Award.

The Anquan Boldin Foundation’s mission is to expand the educational and life opportunities of underprivileged youth. The “Q81 Foundation” has worked worked to benefit youth in Phoenix, Baltimore, South Florida and San Francisco.

Boldin, whom the 49ers acquired in a trade last year with the Baltimore Ravens, recently signed a two-year contract to return to the 49ers.

The award is being presented at the annual NFLPA Player Representative meetings in Orlando. Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White, the late Supreme Court Justice, was a scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant – “the personification of the ideal to which professional football players aspire,” according to the NFLPA.

All 32 teams voted for nominees during the regular season and the NFLPA reviewed 54 applications, with each applicant awarded $5,000 for his foundation or charity of his choice. Boldin becomes the first 49ers player to win the award.

Previous Justice Byron R. “Whizzer” White Award Winners
2013 Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers
2012 Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
2011 Tony Richardson, New York Jets
2010 Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders
2009 Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles
2008 Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons
2007 John Lynch, Denver Broncos
2006 Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans
2005 Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
2004 Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2003 Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles
2002 Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars
2001 Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens
2000 Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals
1999 Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings
1998 Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1997 Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears
1996 Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills
1995 Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs
1994 Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills
1993 Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs
1992 Reggie White, Green Bay Packers
1991 Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons
1990 Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns
1989 Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears
1988 Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs
1987 George Martin, New York Giants
1986 Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins
1985 Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals
1984 Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers
1983 Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns
1982 Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers
1981 Ken Houston, Washington Redskins
1980 Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders
1979 Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys
1978 Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints
1977 Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos
1976 Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals
1975 Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers
1974 Floyd Little, Denver Broncos
1973 Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers
1972 Ray May, Baltimore Colts
1971 Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams
1970 Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears
1969 Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams
1968 Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers
1967 Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers