DeBartolo, Brown, Haley named HOF finalists

January 7, 2012, 7:14 pm
Share This Post

This could be the year.49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo joined a list of 17 finalists to be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.Joining DeBartolo on the list are first-year eligible nominees Bill Parcells and tackle Will Shields.The 49ers are also represented by Charles Haley, a member of the team from 1986-1991 and again in 1999 and a five-time Super Bowl winner, while wide receiver Tim Brown is the lone Raiders finalist.
The Selection Committee will meet in Indianapolis, Ind. on Saturday, February 4, 2012, to elect the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2012. The election results will be announced at 5:30 p.m. ET during a one-hour NFL Network special, live from the Super Bowl Media Center. The Class of 2012 will be the 50th class to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.At the 2012 selection meeting, the selectors will thoroughly discuss the careers of each finalist. Although there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the Pro Football Hall of Fames current ground rules stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year and a class of six or seven can only be achieved if one or both senior nominees are elected. The Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committees 17 finalists (15 modern-era and two senior nominees) with their positions, teams, and years active follow: Jerome Bettis Running Back 1993-95 Los AngelesSt. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers
Tim Brown Wide ReceiverKick Returner 1988-2003 Los AngelesOakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Jack Butler Cornerback 1951-59 Pittsburgh Steelers
Cris Carter Wide Receiver 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins
Dermontti Dawson Center 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers
Edward DeBartolo, Jr. Owner 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers
Chris Doleman Defensive EndLinebacker 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers
Kevin Greene LinebackerDefensive End 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers
Charles Haley Defensive EndLinebacker 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys
Cortez Kennedy Defensive Tackle 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks
Curtis Martin Running Back 1995-97 New England Patriots, 1998-2005 New York Jets
Bill Parcells Coach 1983-1990 New York Giants, 1993-96 New England Patriots, 1997-99 New York Jets, 2003-06 Dallas Cowboys
Andre Reed Wide Receiver 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
Willie Roaf Tackle 1993-2001 New Orleans Saints, 2002-05 Kansas City Chiefs
Will Shields Guard 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs
Dick Stanfel Guard 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington Redskins
Aeneas Williams CornerbackSafety 1991-2000 PhoenixArizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

More Team Talk