DeBartolo, Craig, Haley among Hall of Fame semifinalists

DeBartolo, Craig, Haley among Hall of Fame semifinalists
November 21, 2013, 7:00 am
Share This Post

The 49ers won all five of their Super Bowls during Eddie DeBartolo’s time as owner from 1977 to 2000. (AP)

Five-time Pro Bowl pass-rusher Charles Haley won two Super Bowls with the 49ers and three more after being dealt to the Dallas Cowboys. (USATSI)

Programming note: Watch Thursday’s 49ers press conference with Jim Harbaugh, Vernon Davis and Bruce Miller streaming live online right here at 12 p.m.

Edward DeBartolo Jr., Roger Craig and Charles Haley were chosen among the 25 modern-era semifinalists for the 2014 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The 49ers won all five of their Super Bowls during DeBartolo’s time as owner from 1977 to 2000.

[NEWS: Rogers -- 49ers will not resort to finger-pointing]

Craig, a four-time Pro Bowl running back, won three Super Bowl rings with the 49ers, while the five-time Pro Bowl pass-rusher Haley won two Super Bowls with the 49ers and three more after being dealt to the Dallas Cowboys.

Haley has been a finalist the past four years. DeBartolo has made it to the final 15 each of the past two years. Craig was a finalist in 2010.

Among the former 49ers who did not make the cut from the original list of 126 nominees were defensive tackle Bryant Young and running back Ricky Watters.

Defensive end Kevin Greene, who finished his career in 1997 with San Francisco, is the only other semifinalist who played for the 49ers.

The list consists of four first-year eligible Hall-of-Fame candidates: linebacker Derrick Brooks, coach Tony Dungy, wide receiver Marvin Harrison and tackle Walter Jones.

The selection committee will reduce the list of 25 semifinalists to 15 modern-era finalists, which will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 8.

In addition, former Raiders punter Ray Guy and defensive end Claude Humphrey, who spent most of his career with the Atlanta Falcons, will be finalists, as chosen by the Senior Committee.

[NEWS: Shanahan: Kaepernick has bright future]

Hall of Fame rules stipulate that four to seven new members will be selected each year. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year and a class of six or seven enshrinees can only be achieved if one or both senior nominees are elected.

The Class of 2014 will be determined at the selection committee's annual meeting on Saturday, Feb. 1, in New York, the day before Super Bowl XLVIII.

The complete list of modern-era semifinalists is as follows:

Morten Andersen, K – 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings
Steve Atwater, S – 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets
Jerome Bettis, RB – 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers
Derrick Brooks, LB – 1995-2008 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Tim Brown, WR/KR – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Don Coryell, Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers
Roger Craig, RB – 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings
Terrell Davis, RB – 1995-2001 Denver Broncos
Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner – 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers
Tony Dungy, Coach – 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts
Kevin Greene, LB/DE – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers
Charles Haley, DE/LB – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys
Marvin Harrison, WR – 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts
Joe Jacoby, T – 1981-1993 Washington Redskins
Jimmy Johnson, Coach – 1989-1993 Dallas Cowboys, 1996-99 Miami Dolphins
Walter Jones, T – 1997-2008 Seattle Seahawks
John Lynch, FS – 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos
Karl Mecklenburg, LB – 1983-1994 Denver Broncos
Andre Reed, WR – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
Will Shields, G – 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs
Michael Strahan, DE – 1993-2007 New York Giants
Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner – 1989-2006 National Football League
Aeneas Williams, CB/S – 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams
Steve Wisniewski, G – 1989-2001 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders
George Young, Contributor – 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-78 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League

More Team Talk