Rogers, Tukuafu active for NFC title game

Rogers, Tukuafu active for NFC title game
January 19, 2014, 2:15 pm
Share This Post

As the nickel back, Carlos Rogers' job will be to cover the slot receiver any time the Seahawks go with three wide receivers. (USATSI)

SEATTLE – Cornerback Carlos Rogers and fullback Will Tukuafu are active and will play roles for the 49ers in the NFC Championship game against the Seattle Seahawks on Sunday.

Rogers returns to action in the role as the nickel back, covering the slot receiver any time the Seahawks go with three wide receivers. He missed the previous two games with a right hamstring strain.

Tukuafu sustained a sprain of the medial-collateral ligament in his left knee in the 49ers’ 23-10 victory over the Carolina Panthers last week in the divisional round of the NFC playoffs.

If Tukuafu is limited, the 49ers could also rotate Anthony Dixon and Vance McDonald into the action at the fullback position.

With Rogers active, the 49ers deactivated veteran cornerback Eric Wright, who did not see any snaps of defense in the 49ers’ first two playoff games. Perrish Cox filled in for Rogers as the 49ers’ nickel back. Cox became available for the 49ers to sign when the Seahawks released him just prior to the final regular-season game.

The Seahawks will play without slot receiver and dangerous return man Percy Harvin, who did not pass the NFL’s concussion protocol. Harvin sustained two head injuries in the Seahawks’ victory last week over the New Orleans Saints.

Harvin cleared the concussion test after taking a big hit from Saints defensive back Rafael Bush early in the game. (The NFL fined Bush $21,000 for the hit on a defenseless receiver.) Harvin returned to the game, but sustained a concussion after landing hard on the artificial surface on an incomplete pass.

49ers inactives
CB Eric Wright
TE Derek Carrier
LB Nick Moody
OL Ryan Seymour
DT Quinton Dial
OL Joe Looney
WR Jon Baldwin

Seahawks inactives
WR Percy Harvin
RB Christine Michael
T Michael Bowie
T Caylin Hauptmann
DE O’Brien Schofield
DE Benson Mayowa
DT Jordan Hill