Unofficially, Boldin and Williams listed as 49ers starting WRs

Harbaugh: 'We're the 49ers, we can do whatever we want'

Unofficially, Boldin and Williams listed as 49ers starting WRs
September 3, 2013, 12:30 pm
Share This Post

Kyle Williams is listed as the team's second wide receiver and second kick returner. (USA TODAY IMAGES)

The 49ers moved up to draft Dashon Goldson's replacement, Eric Reid, with the 18th overall pick in the 2013 NFL Draft. (USA TODAY IMAGES)

There are few things 49ers coach Jim Harbaugh likes discussing less than his team's depth chart.

So while the 49ers released their first "unofficial" depth chart of the regular season, it should be noted that Harbaugh does not put a lot of effort into the weekly exercise.

On Aug. 7, Harbaugh had this to say about the team's depth chart:

"The depth chart is not a painstaking thing that I go fill out. Bob Lange (director of public relations) fills out the depth chart. . . Understand, I wouldn't read too much into it. It's not a painstaking process to fill out the depth chart."

With that in mind, there are no surprises on the team's first in-season depth chart. The only real question is who will be the 49ers' starting wide receiver opposite of Anquan Boldin.

The answer, according to the depth chart, is Kyle Williams. (It should be noted that Williams was listed as the starter all through the exhibition season, though he never suited up for a game.)

In reality, expect the 49ers to utilize Williams, rookie Quinton Patton and Marlon Moore in different regular-season situations, beginning Sunday against the Green Bay Packers. It might end up being more of a receiver-by-committee approach. Newly-acquired Jon Baldwin might not figure into the team's game plan until he becomes more acclimated to the offense.

On defense, Ian Williams is listed as the starter at nose tackle, while rookie Eric Reid takes over for Dashon Goldson as the starter at free safety.

49ers 2013 depth chart:
QB: Colin Kaepernick, Colt McCoy, B.J. Daniels
FB: Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon        
RB: Frank Gore, Kendall Hunter, LaMichael James, Anthony Dixon
WR1: Anquan Boldin, Marlon Moore, Jon Baldwin     
WR2: Kyle Williams, Quinton Patton, Chris Harper     
TE: Vernon Davis, Vance McDonald, Garrett Celek     
LT: Joe Staley             
LG: Mike Iupati, Joe Looney         
C: Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore         
RG: Alex Boone, Adam Snyder         
RT: Anthony Davis

LDT: Ray McDonald, Tony Jerod-Eddie         
NT: Ian Williams, Glenn Dorsey         
RDT: Justin Smith, Will Tukuafu         
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Dan Skuta         
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Nate Stupar         
ILB: Patrick Willis, Michael Wilhoite, Nick Moody     
OLB: Aldon Smith, Corey Lemonier         
LCB: Carlos Rogers, Tramaine Brock         
RCB: Tarell Brown, Nnamdi Asomugha, Perrish Cox     
FS: Eric Reid, C.J. Spillman         
SS: Donte Whitner, Craig Dahl, Raymond Ventrone

Special Teams
P: Andy Lee             
K: Phil Dawson             
H: Andy Lee             
PR: LaMichael James, Kyle Williams, Perrish Cox     
KR: LaMichael James, Kyle Williams, Perrish Cox     
LS: Kevin McDermott