Suspense over NBA Rookie of the Year

April 26, 2010, 7:48 pm
Share This Post


Want to know when the NBA will announce the Rookie of the Year Award winner? Join the club.

Bottom line is that the league doesnt say when it announces any of its postseason awards. It hasnt done that for a few years, according to Tim Frank, the NBAs vice president of communications.

There is a lot of interest in the Rookie of the Year Award in Northern California, as the Sacramento Kings Tyreke Evans and the Warriors Stephen Curry are considered the top two candidates.

The NBA used to put out a schedule of when each of the awards would be announced. Frank said that teams executives and public relations staffs also dont know when the awards are given out.

So far, the NBA has given out three of six postseason awards. Orlandos Dwight Howard won the Defensive Player of the Year award, Oklahoma Citys Scott Brooks won the Coach of the Year award and Houstons Aaron Brooks won the Most Improved Player award.

Rookie of the Year, Most Valuable Player and Sixth Man are the awards that remain.

-- Matt Steinmetz

More Team Talk