Warriors' Curry wins NBA Sportsmanship Award

Warriors' Curry wins NBA Sportsmanship Award
May 5, 2011, 5:10 pm
Share This Post


CSNBayArea.com staff

Warriors guard Stephen Curry, whose placid on-court demeanor belies his competitive intensity, was named the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy Thursday, presented to the 2010 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner.

Curry received 88 first-place votes, topping second-place Luol Deng of Chicago (84 first-place votes, LaMarcus Aldridge of Portland (56), George Hill of San Antonio (42), Charlotte's D.J. Augustin (27) and Deron Williams of New Jersey (50).

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the leagues NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer, the awards first recipient.

For the seventh consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for the award. Former NBA players Rolando Blackman, John Crotty, Mark Jackson, and Eddie Johnson selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for this award.