Silver Slugger Award winners announced

Silver Slugger Award winners announced
November 8, 2012, 11:17 pm
Share This Post

The 2-12 Silver Slugger Awards were announced Thursday, given annually to the best offensive player at each position in the American League and National League. The award is voted on by coaches and managers.

Below are your 2012 winners:

American League

Third base: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
Outfield: Mike Trout, Angels; Josh Hamilton, Rangers; Josh Willingham, Twins
Catcher: A.J. Pierzynski, White Sox
First base: Prince Fielder, Tigers
Shortstop: Derek Jeter, Yankees
Second base: Robinson Cano, Yankees
Designated hitter: Billy Butler, Royals

National League

Third base: Chase Headley, Padres
Outfield: Andrew McCutchen, Pirates; Jay Bruce, Reds; Ryan Braun, Brewers
Catcher: Buster Posey, Giants
First base: Adam LaRoche, Nationals
Shortstop: Ian Desmond, Nationals
Second base: Aaron Hill, Diamondbacks
Pitcher: Stephen Strasburg, Nationals

NEWS: Posey wins Silver Slugger Award

More Team Talk