Sharks assign 16 to Worcester

September 17, 2012, 4:46 pm
Share This Post

The San Jose Sharks have assigned 16 players to their American Hockey League affiliate in Worcester.

Forwards Curt Gogol, Freddie Hamilton, Bracken Kearns, James Livingston, Jon Matsumoto, Travis Oleksuk, Brodie Reid, Sebastian Stalberg; defensemen Sena Acolatse, Taylor Doherty, Danny Groulx, Matt Irwin, and Matt Tennyson; and goaltenders Thomas Heemskerk, Harri Sateri, and Alex Stalock will make up the majority of Worcesters roster.

RELATED: Sharks' Thornton, Couture, Demers headed overseas

Most if not all of those players would have taken part in Sharks training camp, which was set to begin on Sep. 21 at Sharks Ice, but will be delayed due to the ongoing NHL lockout.

A pair of Worcester Sharks from last season remain unsigned, as defenseman and former first round pick Nick Petrecki and forward Tim Kennedy are still restricted free agents.

Worcesters season begins on Oct. 12 in Norfolk, with the home opener set for Oct. 20 vs. Albany.