Play time: Many contributors to record-setting day

October 8, 2012, 2:23 pm
Share This Post

Twelve players gained yards rushing or receiving for the 49ers, who Sunday became the first team in NFL history to gain 300 yards on the ground and in the air in the same game.Quarterback Alex Smith had a career-high 156.2 passer rating. It is the highest single-game performance in the NFL since Carson Palmer, then with the Cincinnati Bengals, had a 157.2 mark on Dec. 26, 2010, against the San Diego Chargers.The 621 yards of total offense set a 49ers team record.RELATED: Box score -- 49ers 45, Buffalo 3
And with Smith throwing for 303, Frank Gore rushing for 106, and Michael Crabtree and Vernon Davis recording 113 and 106 yards receiving, respectively, it's the first time the 49ers have had a 300-yard passer, 100-yard rusher and two 100-yard receivers in a game since 1961.Defensively, the 49ers' 45-3 victory over the Buffalo Bills was a group effort, too, as 22 different players saw action on that side of the ball. The 49ers have not allowed a touchdown in 134 minutes, 17 seconds of game action.Here is how the 49ers' play time broke down, by play, on offense, defense and special teams:
Offense (67 plays)
Includes plays nullified by penalty
67 -- RG Alex Boone, RT Anthony Davis, LG Mike Iupati
56 -- LT Joe Staley, C Jonathan Goodwin, TE Vernon Davis
53 -- QB Alex Smith
41 -- RB Frank Gore
38 -- TE Delanie Walker
32 -- WR Mario Manningham
29 -- WR Michael Crabtree
21 -- RB Kendall Hunter
20 -- WR Kyle Williams
19 -- QB Colin Kaepernick
18 -- WR Randy Moss
17 -- FB Will Tukuafu
16 -- FB Bruce Miller, C Daniel Kilgore, G Leonard Davis
14 -- TE Garrett Celek
12 -- WR Ted Ginn
6 -- RB Anthony DixonDefense (46 plays)
Includes plays nullified by penalty
42 -- CB Chris Culliver
41 -- S Dashon Goldson, CB Tarell Brown, DT Ray McDonald, LB NaVorro Bowman, LB Patrick Willis, OLB Aldon Smith, S Donte Whitner, DT Justin Smith, CB Carlos Rogers
40 -- OLB Ahmad Brooks
6 -- CB Perrish Cox
5 -- DT Will Tukuafu, DT Demarcus Dobbs, S Darcel McBath, LB Larry Grant, LB Tavares Gooden, S C.J. Spillman, CB Tramaine Brock, OLB Eric Bakhtiari, DT Ricky Jean Francois
4 -- NT Isaac SopoagaSpecial teams
25 -- Demarcus Dobbs
20 -- Darcel McBath
18 -- Anthony Dixon, Larry Grant, Tavares Gooden, C.J. Spillman,
16 -- Tramaine Brock
15 -- David Akers
14 -- Eric Bakhtiari
9 -- Andy Lee, Brian Jennings, Daniel Kilgore, Chris Culliver
11 -- Will Tukuafu
10 -- Bruce Miller, Delanie Walker
7 -- Alex Boone, Anthony Davis, Mike Iupati, Joe Staley, Leonard Davis, Ted Ginn
4 -- Dashon Goldson, Perrish Cox
3 -- Dashon Goldson
2 -- Kyle Williams, Tarell Brown, Ray McDonald, NaVorro Bowman, Aldon Smith, Patrick Willis, Ricky Jean Francois, Ahmad Brooks, Ricky Jean FrancoisAP Images

More Team Talk