Raiders receive 3 compensatory draft picks

March 26, 2012, 9:31 pm
Share This Post

As expected, the Raiders received a third-round compensatory pick in April's draft, No. 95 overall, but Oakland also received additional comp. picks in the fourth round (No. 129 overall) and fifth round (No. 168 overall).The Raiders, who lost free agents Nnamdi Asomugha, Zach Miller, Robert Gallery and Thomas Howard while signing free agent Kevin Boss last offseason, still hold their original picks in the fifth (No. 13 of the round) and sixth rounds (No. 19 of the round), respectively.It all gives new general manager Reggie McKenzie five draft picks with which to play heading into the April 26-28 draft, even as the Raiders currently have less than 3.72 million in salary cap room.RELATED: Raiders have little cap space breathing room
Comp. picks take place after a draft round is complete. But with New Orleans forfeiting its second-round selection as a "BountyGate" penalty and the Raiders having already used their third-round pick on Terrelle Pryor in last summer's supplemental draft, the draft is moved up two spots after the third round.Oakland traded away most of its 2012 draft picks, the Raiders' first-rounder going to Cincinnati for Carson Palmer, their second-rounder going to New England for selections that became Joe Barksdale and Taiwan Jones, their third-rounder used on Pryor, their fourth-rounder going to Washington two years ago for Jason Campbell and the seventh-round pick going to Seattle for Aaron Curry.So what kind of value should the Raiders expect from a No. 95 overall pick?Well, the last four No. 95 overall picks are: Pittsburgh cornerback Curtis Brown out of Texas in 2011; New Orleans tight end Jimmy Graham out of Miami in 2010; Arizona safety Rashad Johnson out of Alabama in 2009 and New York Giants receiver Mario Manningham, who recently signed with the 49ers, out of Michigan in 2008.In fact, Raiders free agent linebacker Darryl Blackstock is a No. 95 overall draft pick as well, taken by Arizona out of Virginia in 2005.