Giants 2013 game schedule

880185.jpg

Giants 2013 game schedule

DATE OPPONENT Tue., April 2 at LAD Wed., April 3 at LAD Thur., April 4 at LAD Fri., April 5 STL Sat., April 6 STL Sun., April 7 STL Mon., April 8 COL Tue., April 9 COL Wed., April 10 COL Thur., April 11 at CHC Fri., April 12 at CHC Sat., April 13 at CHC Sun., April 14 at CHC Mon., April 15 -OFF- Tue., April 16 at MIL Wed., April 17 at MIL Thur., April 18 at MIL Fri., April 19 SD Sat., April 20 SD Sun., April 21 SD Mon., April 22 ARZ Tue., April 23 ARZ Wed., April 24 ARZ Thur., April 25 -OFF- Fri., April 26 at SD Sat., April 27 at SD Sun., April 28 at SD Mon., April 29 at ARZ Tue., April 30 at ARZ Wed., May 1 at ARZ Thur., May 2 -OFF- Fri., May 3 LAD Sat., May 4 LAD Sun., May 5 LAD Mon., May 6 PHI Tue., May 7 PHI Wed., May 8 PHI Thur., May 9 ATL Fri., May 10 ATL Sat., May 11 ATL Sun., May 12 ATL Mon., May 13 -OFF- Tue., May 14 at TOR Wed., May 15 at TOR Thur., May 16 at COL Fri., May 17 at COL Sat., May 18 at COL Sun., May 19 at COL Mon., May 20 WAS Tue., May 21 WAS Wed., May 22 WAS Thur., May 23 -OFF- Fri., May 24 COL Sat., May 25 COL Sun., May 26 COL Mon., May 27 OAK Tue., May 28 OAK Wed., May 29 at OAK Thur., May 30 at OAK Fri., May 31 at STL Sat., June 1 at STLSun., June 2 at STL
Mon., June 3 -OFF-
Tue., June 4 TOR
Wed., June 5 TOR
Thur., June 6 -OFF-
Fri., June 7 at ARZ
Sat., June 8 at ARZ
Sun., June 9 at ARZ
Mon., June 10 -OFF-
Tue., June 11 at PIT
Wed., June 12 at PIT
Thur., June 13 at PIT
Fri., June 14 at ATL
Sat., June 15 at ATL
Sun., June 16 at ATL
Mon., June 17 SD
Tue., June 18 SD
Wed., June 19 SD
Thur., June 20 MIA
Fri., June 21 MIA
Sat., June 22 MIA
Sun., June 23 MIA
Mon., June 24 at LAD
Tue., June 25 at LAD
Wed., June 26 at LAD
Thur., June 27 -OFF-
Fri., June 28 at COL
Sat., June 29 at COL
Sun., June 30 at COL
Mon., July 1 at CIN
Tue., July 2 at CIN
Wed., July 3 at CIN
Thur., July 4 at CIN
Fri., July 5 LAD
Sat., July 6 LAD
Sun., July 7 LAD
Mon., July 8 NYM
Tue., July 9 NYM
Wed., July 10 NYM
Thur., July 11 at SD
Fri., July 12 at SD
Sat., July 13 at SD
Sun., July 14 at SD
Mon., July 15 AS Break
Tue., July 16 AS Break
Wed., July 17 AS Break
Thur., July 18 AS Break
Fri., July 19 ARZ
Sat., July 20 ARZ
Sun., July 21 ARZ
Mon., July 22 CIN
Tue, July 23 CIN
Wed, July 24 CIN
Thur, July 25 -OFF-
Fri., July 26 CHC
Sat., July 27 CHC
Sun., July 28 CHC
Mon., July 29 -OFF-
Tue, July 30 at PHI
Wed., July 31 at PHI
Thur., August 1 at PHI
Fri., August 2 at TB
Sat., August 3 at TB
Sun., August 4 at TB
Mon., August 5 MIL
Tue., August 6 MIL
Wed August 7 MIL
Thur., August 8 MIL
Fri., August 9 BAL
Sat., August 10 BAL
Sun, August 11 BAL
Mon., August 12 -OFF-
Tue., August 13 at WAS
Wed., August 14 at WAS
Thur., August 15 at WAS
Fri., August 16 at MIA
Sat., August 17 at MIA
Sun., August 18 at MIA
Mon., August 19 BOS
Tue., August 20 BOS
Wed., August 21 BOS
Thur., August 22 PIT
Fri., August 23 PIT
Sat., August 24 PIT
Sun., August 25 PIT
Mon., August 26 at COL
Tue., August 27 at COL
Wed., August 28 at COL
Thur., August 29 -OFF-
Fri., August 30 at ARZ
Sat., August 31 at ARZ
Sun., Sept. 1 at ARZ
Mon., Sept. 2 at SD
Tue., Sept. 3 at SD
Wed., Sept. 4 at SD
Thur., Sept. 5 ARZ
Fri., Sept. 6 ARZ
Sat., Sept. 7 ARZ
Sun., Sept. 8 ARZ
Mon., Sept. 9 COL
Tue., Sept. 10 COL
Wed., Sept. 11 COL
Thur., Sept. 12 at LAD
Fri., Sept. 13 at LAD
Sat., Sept. 14 at LAD
Sun., Sept. 15 at LAD
Mon., Sept. 16 -OFF-
Tue., Sept. 17 at NYM
Wed., Sept. 18 at NYM
Thur., Sept. 19 at NYM
Fri., Sept. 20 at NYY
Sat., Sept. 21 at NYY
Sun., Sept. 22 at NYY
Mon., Sept. 23 -OFF-
Tue., Sept. 24 LAD
Wed., Sept. 25 LAD
Thur., Sept. 26 LAD
Fri., Sept. 27 SD
Sat., Sept. 28 SD
Sun., Sept. 29 SD

Puerto Rico in scarce supply of hair dye amid World Baseball Classic fever

Puerto Rico in scarce supply of hair dye amid World Baseball Classic fever

AN JUAN, Puerto Rico -- Pharmacies and beauty stores across Puerto Rico are running out of hair dye with even a top economist joining men going blond in support of the island's baseball players who bleached their hair ahead of the World Baseball Classic.

What began as a joke among team members playing in California has spread across the island in a trend that spiked Tuesday just hours after Puerto Rico beat the Netherlands in 11 innings to reach the championship game undefeated in the tournament, which is held every four years. Puerto Rico will play Wednesday night in the final against the United States, which defeated Japan.

"Ever since they began winning, this has not stopped," said Myrna Rios, a manager at a Sally Beauty Supply store in the capital of San Juan. "We have run out of the product in most of our stores."

Copper blond, platinum blond, golden blond - all shades of blond (even burnt orange) are turning heads in a U.S. territory where the majority of men have thick, dark hair. Bald men dyed their beards or goatees in a nod to Puerto Rico coach Carlos Delgado.

"We have been able to unite our country with our blond hair," said star Carlos Correa, who hit a two-run homer and scored the winning run against the Netherlands. "That's what we want as players to unite our country, our people, and give them the best."

Men ranging from news anchors to university students to professionals have embraced a trend that has sparked the rallying cry of "Team Rubio!" or "Team Blond" in Spanish.

Among them is civil engineer Christian Rodriguez, who dyed his beard Saturday after visiting four different pharmacies to find the product he needed. At first, he didn't dye his hair as well because he thought it would be too much at church on Sunday. But he noticed six male churchgoers had dyed their hair blond and decided to take the plunge, calling a hair stylist friend to help him go platinum.

Rodriguez complained of an intense burning sensation during the two-hour process and sent pictures to his wife, who responded with the emoticon of a monkey with its eyes covered.

"Anything for my island!" he said as he lifted his arm to cheer the team.

Rodriguez then sent a picture of his dyed hair to his mechanic, who responded with a selfie taken underneath a car of him smiling with a bleached beard.

Puerto Rico's undefeated run to the championship has boosted the spirit of an island mired in a decade-long recession that faces a rocky recovery amid looming austerity measures for its government. Even young students have been sporting blond do's, prompting public schools to suspend them until the island's education secretary stepped in and said in a letter made public Tuesday that they should be allowed to dye their hair during the tournament.

"We wanted to do this to unite the team, and then the people of Puerto Rico, they started dying their hair, too," pitcher Edwin Diaz said. "I saw that there were some students that were suspended from school. I think they shouldn't be doing that because it just means that we have united our nation."

Even the prominent Puerto Rico-based economist Sergio Marxuach joined the trend, sporting yellow hair as he walked into a seminar in Puerto Rico on Wednesday, drawing laughs.

"My youngest son asked me, 'Why did you paint your hair like Donald Trump?'" he recalled with a laugh. "If this team can give us hope, we're going to need it given what's coming down the pipe."

Giants spring training Day 38: Cain still on track for fifth starter job

Giants spring training Day 38: Cain still on track for fifth starter job

MARYVALE, Ariz. — After a series of questions the other day about getting extra rest between starts, Madison Bumgarner smiled and pointed at the personalized calendar taped to his locker. He said he simply operates by the schedule set out by pitching coach Dave Righetti.

A glance at the calendar in Matt Cain’s locker might show a reason why the longest-tenured Giant is still in a good position to win the No. 5 starter spot despite continued spring struggles. Because they have two off days sandwiching a two-game series in Kansas City in the middle of April, the Giants can potentially use their No. 5 starter just twice until April 25, a span of 20 games.

If there’s any concern about Cain’s ability to hold up during the regular season, the early slate could help. The Giants can throw Cain against the Padres and Diamondbacks to start the season, and if it's not working out, they can go a stretch with just their top four as they reevaluate. 

"We'll see once we get a little closer how guys are doing, but it certainly gives you some options," manager Bruce Bochy said. 

Cain has been preparing all along to start April 7 at Petco Park. That hasn’t changed.

“That’s what I’m looking at,” he said. “That’s the only thing I’m preparing for, to make sure I’m ready to go 100 pitches.”

Cain had another mixed-bag day against the Brewers. The first inning was full of loud contact and Cain was charged with three runs on four hits. But he settled down from there, allowing just one run over the next four innings. In all, Cain allowed four runs on seven hits and struck out four. He said he tried to change speeds more often after the early ambush. 

“I was maybe getting the timing different for them,” he said. “Those guys were getting balls where they could hit them. You’ve got to make a quick adjustment to that, and I had to do that.”

Cain threw 70 pitches, another sign that he’s locked in for April 7. His competition, Ty Blach, has not been fully stretched out this spring. 

TRAINER'S ROOM: Will Smith will head to Los Angeles on Thursday to get a second opinion on his left elbow strain. The Giants will then know if Smith needs Tommy John surgery, which would end his season. Eduardo Nuñez flew back to San Francisco with Smith earlier in the week to get a corisone shot in his sore right shoulder. He's back, but he'll be down a few days. 

GAME RECAP: Hunter Pence has been slumping for several weeks, but he got on the board in the sixth with a double that spun off the end of his bat and down the first base line. A classic Pence hit ... Jae-gyun Hwang hit a two-run shot to right-center ... Steven Okert did some nifty work to keep his spring ERA at 0.00. With runners on first and third and no outs, he got a double play and a fly ball to left.

ICYMI: Barry Bonds has arrived. Here is a story about his return to the Giants, and here’s video from his media session this morning. 

GOOD NEWS: First base coach Jose Alguacil returned to camp Wednesday morning, and he said he’s only a few days from returning to game action. Alguacil, who had surgery earlier in March after taking a line drive off the face, was cleared for full activity. Hensley Meulens, Dave Groeschner and Taira Uematsu also returned from a stint in the WBC. 

FLASHING THE LEATHER: Aaron Hill started the prettiest double play of the spring by snagging a Hernan Perez liner with a dive and making a perfect throw to second baseman Gordon Beckham. Hill later smashed a double into the left field corner. That dude is making the team. 

QUOTABLE: "I figured Barry is in town, so I'd show him how it's done." -- Denard Span on a very long two-run homer he hit to right.