Giants 2013 game schedule

880185.jpg

Giants 2013 game schedule

DATE OPPONENT Tue., April 2 at LAD Wed., April 3 at LAD Thur., April 4 at LAD Fri., April 5 STL Sat., April 6 STL Sun., April 7 STL Mon., April 8 COL Tue., April 9 COL Wed., April 10 COL Thur., April 11 at CHC Fri., April 12 at CHC Sat., April 13 at CHC Sun., April 14 at CHC Mon., April 15 -OFF- Tue., April 16 at MIL Wed., April 17 at MIL Thur., April 18 at MIL Fri., April 19 SD Sat., April 20 SD Sun., April 21 SD Mon., April 22 ARZ Tue., April 23 ARZ Wed., April 24 ARZ Thur., April 25 -OFF- Fri., April 26 at SD Sat., April 27 at SD Sun., April 28 at SD Mon., April 29 at ARZ Tue., April 30 at ARZ Wed., May 1 at ARZ Thur., May 2 -OFF- Fri., May 3 LAD Sat., May 4 LAD Sun., May 5 LAD Mon., May 6 PHI Tue., May 7 PHI Wed., May 8 PHI Thur., May 9 ATL Fri., May 10 ATL Sat., May 11 ATL Sun., May 12 ATL Mon., May 13 -OFF- Tue., May 14 at TOR Wed., May 15 at TOR Thur., May 16 at COL Fri., May 17 at COL Sat., May 18 at COL Sun., May 19 at COL Mon., May 20 WAS Tue., May 21 WAS Wed., May 22 WAS Thur., May 23 -OFF- Fri., May 24 COL Sat., May 25 COL Sun., May 26 COL Mon., May 27 OAK Tue., May 28 OAK Wed., May 29 at OAK Thur., May 30 at OAK Fri., May 31 at STL Sat., June 1 at STLSun., June 2 at STL
Mon., June 3 -OFF-
Tue., June 4 TOR
Wed., June 5 TOR
Thur., June 6 -OFF-
Fri., June 7 at ARZ
Sat., June 8 at ARZ
Sun., June 9 at ARZ
Mon., June 10 -OFF-
Tue., June 11 at PIT
Wed., June 12 at PIT
Thur., June 13 at PIT
Fri., June 14 at ATL
Sat., June 15 at ATL
Sun., June 16 at ATL
Mon., June 17 SD
Tue., June 18 SD
Wed., June 19 SD
Thur., June 20 MIA
Fri., June 21 MIA
Sat., June 22 MIA
Sun., June 23 MIA
Mon., June 24 at LAD
Tue., June 25 at LAD
Wed., June 26 at LAD
Thur., June 27 -OFF-
Fri., June 28 at COL
Sat., June 29 at COL
Sun., June 30 at COL
Mon., July 1 at CIN
Tue., July 2 at CIN
Wed., July 3 at CIN
Thur., July 4 at CIN
Fri., July 5 LAD
Sat., July 6 LAD
Sun., July 7 LAD
Mon., July 8 NYM
Tue., July 9 NYM
Wed., July 10 NYM
Thur., July 11 at SD
Fri., July 12 at SD
Sat., July 13 at SD
Sun., July 14 at SD
Mon., July 15 AS Break
Tue., July 16 AS Break
Wed., July 17 AS Break
Thur., July 18 AS Break
Fri., July 19 ARZ
Sat., July 20 ARZ
Sun., July 21 ARZ
Mon., July 22 CIN
Tue, July 23 CIN
Wed, July 24 CIN
Thur, July 25 -OFF-
Fri., July 26 CHC
Sat., July 27 CHC
Sun., July 28 CHC
Mon., July 29 -OFF-
Tue, July 30 at PHI
Wed., July 31 at PHI
Thur., August 1 at PHI
Fri., August 2 at TB
Sat., August 3 at TB
Sun., August 4 at TB
Mon., August 5 MIL
Tue., August 6 MIL
Wed August 7 MIL
Thur., August 8 MIL
Fri., August 9 BAL
Sat., August 10 BAL
Sun, August 11 BAL
Mon., August 12 -OFF-
Tue., August 13 at WAS
Wed., August 14 at WAS
Thur., August 15 at WAS
Fri., August 16 at MIA
Sat., August 17 at MIA
Sun., August 18 at MIA
Mon., August 19 BOS
Tue., August 20 BOS
Wed., August 21 BOS
Thur., August 22 PIT
Fri., August 23 PIT
Sat., August 24 PIT
Sun., August 25 PIT
Mon., August 26 at COL
Tue., August 27 at COL
Wed., August 28 at COL
Thur., August 29 -OFF-
Fri., August 30 at ARZ
Sat., August 31 at ARZ
Sun., Sept. 1 at ARZ
Mon., Sept. 2 at SD
Tue., Sept. 3 at SD
Wed., Sept. 4 at SD
Thur., Sept. 5 ARZ
Fri., Sept. 6 ARZ
Sat., Sept. 7 ARZ
Sun., Sept. 8 ARZ
Mon., Sept. 9 COL
Tue., Sept. 10 COL
Wed., Sept. 11 COL
Thur., Sept. 12 at LAD
Fri., Sept. 13 at LAD
Sat., Sept. 14 at LAD
Sun., Sept. 15 at LAD
Mon., Sept. 16 -OFF-
Tue., Sept. 17 at NYM
Wed., Sept. 18 at NYM
Thur., Sept. 19 at NYM
Fri., Sept. 20 at NYY
Sat., Sept. 21 at NYY
Sun., Sept. 22 at NYY
Mon., Sept. 23 -OFF-
Tue., Sept. 24 LAD
Wed., Sept. 25 LAD
Thur., Sept. 26 LAD
Fri., Sept. 27 SD
Sat., Sept. 28 SD
Sun., Sept. 29 SD

Headed for 100 losses, Giants quietly give up on "Don't Stop Believin'" tradition

Headed for 100 losses, Giants quietly give up on "Don't Stop Believin'" tradition

SAN FRANCISCO — At some point over the last month, the Giants quietly stopped playing “Don’t Stop Believin’” in the late innings of games they trail. 

It’s unclear exactly when it started, or who made the decision. A number of team employees, surveyed over the past week, had noticed. But nobody knew the exact details. Perhaps the longtime staple of AT&T Park was shelved on July 9, when FanGraphs dropped the playoff odds to 0.00 percent for the first time in a lost season. Maybe it was during a bad loss before that or a bad loss after that. You can take your pick. This season has been filled with so many of them it’s hard to keep track. 

Friday’s stood out, in part because this was the kind of night where Journey briefly made sense. The Giants gave Jeff Samardzija a 4-0 lead in the first inning against a Padres team that spent the early innings kicking and throwing the ball all over the field and making mistakes on the bases. It was 5-1 after three innings. By the sixth, the Padres had tied it. By the seventh, they had the lead. By the eighth, it was a three-run lead. 

Before the bottom of the eighth, the in-stadium crew played Prince’s “Let’s Go Crazy” for a crowd of a few thousand. Last weekend, Huey Lewis was the fill-in for Journey. On Wednesday, a game the Giants actually came back to win, the scoreboard played a singalong game to “Happy Together” by The Turtles. 

On this night, the Giants actually would come back. Conor Gillaspie hit a two-run homer with two outs in the ninth, tying the game and sending it into extras. The Giants had trailed by three with one out remaining, but the momentum provided by Buster Posey, Brandon Crawford and Gillaspie was just a blip. The Padres scored three in the 11th off George Kontos, who has pitched five times over the last eight days and was supposed to get a night to rest. 

Kontos was the last to give up runs in a 12-9 loss, but hardly the only one. Samardzija took blame after failing to get through five with a big early cushion. That put pressure on the tired bullpen, and the relievers blew it over and over again. The Padres scored runs in six consecutive innings at one point and had 20 hits. 

“We couldn’t stop them,” Bruce Bochy said, shaking his head. 

Nothing can apparently stop this skid. The Giants are 37-61 and six games behind the Padres. They are much closer to the No. 1 draft pick than they are to fourth place in their division. 

“Don’t Stop Believin’” survived the 2013 season. It survived 2015 and the second half of last year. Nothing can survive this season.

Instant Analysis: Five takeaways as Giants lose marathon in extras to Padres

Instant Analysis: Five takeaways as Giants lose marathon in extras to Padres

BOX SCORE

SAN FRANCISCO — A few hundred, maybe a few thousand, stayed to watch the Giants late Friday night. The Giants did not make it worth the effort. 

Conor Gillaspie’s two-out homer in the ninth sent the game to extras, but the Giants lost 12-9 in a game that lasted nearly five hours. The Giants had trailed by three with two outs and nobody on in the ninth. They tied it. Instead of carrying that momentum over, they suffered yet another demoralizing loss. 

They have dropped both games of this series and they trail the Padres -- who had 20 hits -- by six games in the race for fourth place. Those are facts. Here are five more, mostly from earlier, when a young man harbored dreams of leaving a ballpark before 1 a.m. … 

—- Hector Sanchez took Jeff Samardzija deep to lead off the fourth, and at this point it’s flat-out hilarious. Sanchez has seven homers this season and three have come against his former team. He hit two homers at AT&T Park in 296 plate appearances as a Giant, and the fourth-inning blast gave him three in 11 plate appearances as a Padre. He also doubled in a run and singled. It’s an all-time revenge tour. Just go along for the ride. 

—- There were a ton of scouts on hand to watch two starting pitchers who could move in the next 10 days, and they left disappointed. Trevor Cahill gave up six earned on seven hits and four walks and lasted just 3 2/3 innings. Jeff Samardzija gave up eight hits and five earned in 4 1/3 innings. 

—- I dunno man, it’s really hard getting to five of these every night. Sam Dyson was good again. 

—- Gillaspie's pinch-hit homer was the sixth of his career. He's a hero around these parts, but perhaps Bobby Evans should see if a team out there was watching Friday and remembers his October run. Gillaspie could help a contender. 

—- When MLB inevitably introduces a pitch clock and pitchers start complaining, this will be the game I tell them to sit down and try to watch start to finish.