Giants 2013 game schedule

880185.jpg

Giants 2013 game schedule

DATE OPPONENT Tue., April 2 at LAD Wed., April 3 at LAD Thur., April 4 at LAD Fri., April 5 STL Sat., April 6 STL Sun., April 7 STL Mon., April 8 COL Tue., April 9 COL Wed., April 10 COL Thur., April 11 at CHC Fri., April 12 at CHC Sat., April 13 at CHC Sun., April 14 at CHC Mon., April 15 -OFF- Tue., April 16 at MIL Wed., April 17 at MIL Thur., April 18 at MIL Fri., April 19 SD Sat., April 20 SD Sun., April 21 SD Mon., April 22 ARZ Tue., April 23 ARZ Wed., April 24 ARZ Thur., April 25 -OFF- Fri., April 26 at SD Sat., April 27 at SD Sun., April 28 at SD Mon., April 29 at ARZ Tue., April 30 at ARZ Wed., May 1 at ARZ Thur., May 2 -OFF- Fri., May 3 LAD Sat., May 4 LAD Sun., May 5 LAD Mon., May 6 PHI Tue., May 7 PHI Wed., May 8 PHI Thur., May 9 ATL Fri., May 10 ATL Sat., May 11 ATL Sun., May 12 ATL Mon., May 13 -OFF- Tue., May 14 at TOR Wed., May 15 at TOR Thur., May 16 at COL Fri., May 17 at COL Sat., May 18 at COL Sun., May 19 at COL Mon., May 20 WAS Tue., May 21 WAS Wed., May 22 WAS Thur., May 23 -OFF- Fri., May 24 COL Sat., May 25 COL Sun., May 26 COL Mon., May 27 OAK Tue., May 28 OAK Wed., May 29 at OAK Thur., May 30 at OAK Fri., May 31 at STL Sat., June 1 at STLSun., June 2 at STL
Mon., June 3 -OFF-
Tue., June 4 TOR
Wed., June 5 TOR
Thur., June 6 -OFF-
Fri., June 7 at ARZ
Sat., June 8 at ARZ
Sun., June 9 at ARZ
Mon., June 10 -OFF-
Tue., June 11 at PIT
Wed., June 12 at PIT
Thur., June 13 at PIT
Fri., June 14 at ATL
Sat., June 15 at ATL
Sun., June 16 at ATL
Mon., June 17 SD
Tue., June 18 SD
Wed., June 19 SD
Thur., June 20 MIA
Fri., June 21 MIA
Sat., June 22 MIA
Sun., June 23 MIA
Mon., June 24 at LAD
Tue., June 25 at LAD
Wed., June 26 at LAD
Thur., June 27 -OFF-
Fri., June 28 at COL
Sat., June 29 at COL
Sun., June 30 at COL
Mon., July 1 at CIN
Tue., July 2 at CIN
Wed., July 3 at CIN
Thur., July 4 at CIN
Fri., July 5 LAD
Sat., July 6 LAD
Sun., July 7 LAD
Mon., July 8 NYM
Tue., July 9 NYM
Wed., July 10 NYM
Thur., July 11 at SD
Fri., July 12 at SD
Sat., July 13 at SD
Sun., July 14 at SD
Mon., July 15 AS Break
Tue., July 16 AS Break
Wed., July 17 AS Break
Thur., July 18 AS Break
Fri., July 19 ARZ
Sat., July 20 ARZ
Sun., July 21 ARZ
Mon., July 22 CIN
Tue, July 23 CIN
Wed, July 24 CIN
Thur, July 25 -OFF-
Fri., July 26 CHC
Sat., July 27 CHC
Sun., July 28 CHC
Mon., July 29 -OFF-
Tue, July 30 at PHI
Wed., July 31 at PHI
Thur., August 1 at PHI
Fri., August 2 at TB
Sat., August 3 at TB
Sun., August 4 at TB
Mon., August 5 MIL
Tue., August 6 MIL
Wed August 7 MIL
Thur., August 8 MIL
Fri., August 9 BAL
Sat., August 10 BAL
Sun, August 11 BAL
Mon., August 12 -OFF-
Tue., August 13 at WAS
Wed., August 14 at WAS
Thur., August 15 at WAS
Fri., August 16 at MIA
Sat., August 17 at MIA
Sun., August 18 at MIA
Mon., August 19 BOS
Tue., August 20 BOS
Wed., August 21 BOS
Thur., August 22 PIT
Fri., August 23 PIT
Sat., August 24 PIT
Sun., August 25 PIT
Mon., August 26 at COL
Tue., August 27 at COL
Wed., August 28 at COL
Thur., August 29 -OFF-
Fri., August 30 at ARZ
Sat., August 31 at ARZ
Sun., Sept. 1 at ARZ
Mon., Sept. 2 at SD
Tue., Sept. 3 at SD
Wed., Sept. 4 at SD
Thur., Sept. 5 ARZ
Fri., Sept. 6 ARZ
Sat., Sept. 7 ARZ
Sun., Sept. 8 ARZ
Mon., Sept. 9 COL
Tue., Sept. 10 COL
Wed., Sept. 11 COL
Thur., Sept. 12 at LAD
Fri., Sept. 13 at LAD
Sat., Sept. 14 at LAD
Sun., Sept. 15 at LAD
Mon., Sept. 16 -OFF-
Tue., Sept. 17 at NYM
Wed., Sept. 18 at NYM
Thur., Sept. 19 at NYM
Fri., Sept. 20 at NYY
Sat., Sept. 21 at NYY
Sun., Sept. 22 at NYY
Mon., Sept. 23 -OFF-
Tue., Sept. 24 LAD
Wed., Sept. 25 LAD
Thur., Sept. 26 LAD
Fri., Sept. 27 SD
Sat., Sept. 28 SD
Sun., Sept. 29 SD

What they're saying: 2017 Baseball Hall of Fame class

What they're saying: 2017 Baseball Hall of Fame class

The National Baseball Hall of Fame inducted Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines and Ivan Rodriguez Wednesday. Here's what they and their peers are saying.

https://twitter.com/baseballhall/status/821855144681897988


Still on outside, Bonds, Clemens have become invaluable to Hall

Still on outside, Bonds, Clemens have become invaluable to Hall

The Baseball Hall of Fame becomes yesterday’s news Friday, as it always does. Three months of buildup, one day to announce the names, one day to castigate the voters for their willfully negligent slights, and then nine months of hibernation.

So much for the concept of “joining the immortals.”

But at least Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines and Ivan Rodriguez never have to go through this annual pageant of nonsense again.

Barry Bonds does, though, and so does Roger Clemens, and to a lesser extent, so does Curt Schilling. They are the new litmus strips for the Hall, and they will more than replace Raines (voter ignorance division) and Bagwell (presumption of guilt with evidence division) for self-involved debate.

And in that adjusted role from doomed outsiders to serious candidates, Bonds and Clemens – and to a lesser extent again, Schilling – have become invaluable to the Hall, and their eventual election and induction will reduce the Hall’s ability to inflame passions outside the seamhead community.

On a day when Bagwell and Raines finally cleared the 75 percent threshold and Bonds and Clemens moved from 45 percent to 53.8 and 54.1 percent, respectively, the Hall of Fame Debating And Chowder Society saw the end times for its power as a multi-month debate-churner.

The blatherers are dead, long live the blatherers.

An entire mini-industry of Hall watchers has been spawned, in part by the now-feted Ryan Thibodaux and his exit polling but also by the debates about what the Hall should be and who should get to decide it. It has made days like Wednesday event viewing when it hadn’t been for years. For that, the Hall owes Bonds and Clemens a debt that the powers inside Major League Baseball wishes it didn’t have to pay. But the day they are inducted is the day that PEDs die as a debating point. The answer will have been provided, and there will be no more need for discussion.

Worse yet, the BBWAA’S new voter transparency rules may unfortunately impact our pal Thibodaux, whose seminal work in this understudied area of social science undermined ballot secrecy. In short, if everyone has to fess up, the desperate need to know early returns may dry up.

Oh, there will always be the day of post mortem-ization, as those who didn’t clear the threshold are subject to a few rounds of the popular parlor game, “Who Got Snubbed, And The Tedious And Half-Informed Reasons Why.”

For instance, the big debating point from today’s results will not be about Raines and Guerrero getting in, but what happened to the Bonds and Clemens votes. People have already postulated that a lot of the jump in their respective votes can be directly linked to Bud Selig’s election from the Veterans Committee. Voters who had previously ridden the Hall-as-temple argument suddenly lost their raison d’etre and realized that the PED problem was an industry matter rather than a greedy players’ matter.

In short, they saw Selig getting in as tacit approval that the PED issue was no longer a moral one in baseball but a cynical one, a way to blame labor for management’s culpability. That is an irony whose existence Selig will almost surely deny, but it’s there anyway, and it represents one more non-glacial change in a system that has been nearly immovable for most of its existence.

The next change, of course, may be removing the vote from the BBWAA and turning it over to a more malleable panel of “experts” who may not skew as young and values-neutral as the BBWAA of the future seems to be heading. That course may be hastened if/when Bonds and Clemens are elected, because halls of fame in their more traditional role have been more about rewarding friends and punishing enemies, and a large and shifting electorate makes that harder to accomplish.

The argument against such a course, though, is that the current system of three months of fevered public debate about the same old stuff works for the Hall’s sense of its importance. I mean, MLB Network and its fetish for shrill argument only has so much reach.

By Friday, though, all of this will revert to its typically inert state. Bonds, Clemens (ATALE Schilling), PEDs, morality, practicality, secrecy, old voter/young voter – all of it will fade back into insignificance.

And in a year or two or maybe three, Bonds and Clemens will wipe it all out by being included in the one club that we once knew would never tolerate their presence, and the Hall Of Fame’s Golden Age Of Shrieking Argument will end.

In a weird and largely unpleasant way, it will be missed.