Gallery wins Raiders' Ed Block Courage Award

Gallery wins Raiders' Ed Block Courage Award
December 30, 2010, 2:18 am
Share This Post


ALAMEDA -- Oakland Raiders guard Robert Gallery is this years Ed Block Courage Award winner. Gallery suffered multiple injuries in 2009, including recovering from an appendectomy in training camp. Gallery then came back from a broken leg to start six games in 2009 before a back injury sidelined him for the remainder of the season.

He has rebounded in 2010 to lead an offensive line that helped pave the way for a 1,000-yard rusher and assist in posting more than 400 total offense yards in five games, more than 500 in three contests.

He was in the starting lineup for all 16 games in 2008 and was part of a unit that helped the Raiders rank 10th in the NFL in rushing. In 2007, Gallery started at left guard and was part of an offensive line that ranked sixth in the NFL in total rushing yards and helped pave the way for a 1,000-yard rusher.

Gallery played left tackle in 2006 after beginning his career at right tackle and started 10 games while battling injuries. In 2005, Gallery was part of an offensive line that helped produce a 3,500-yard passer and a 1,000-yard rusher.

Gallery broke into the starting lineup as a rookie in 2004 and was part of an offensive line that protected Raider quarterbacks who threw for more than 4,000 yards. That year, he was member of a unit that surrendered the fifth fewest sacks in NFL.

Gallery was the Oakland Raiders first round selectionand the second pick overall in the 2004 NFL Draft out of the University of Iowa, where he was the Outland Trophy winner in 2003 as the nations best collegiate interior lineman.

The Ed Block Courage Award annually honors one player from each NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The award has become one of the most esteemed honors bestowed upon a player in the NFL, primarily because his selection is based upon a vote of his peers. Additionally, the award recognizes a players efforts on and off the field, as well as their ability to overcome great adversity.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. In 1989, the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation formulated the Courage House National Support Network for Kids. The Fred Finch Youth Center is the Raiders Courage House.

Courtesy Oakland Raiders media services.

    More Team Talk