Raiders announce 53-man roster

Raiders announce 53-man roster
August 30, 2014, 4:15 pm
Share This Post

Dennis Allen enters his third season as the Raiders head coach. He has an 8-24 record. (USATSI)

Programming note: For complete coverage of the Raiders roster cuts tune in to SportsNet Central tonight at 5:30 p.m., 10:30 and midnight on Comcast SportsNet Bay Area

The Raiders had to trim their roster down 22 players to reach the 53-man regular-season maximum on Saturday afternoon. The team announced their cuts, went roughly according to plan.

Some well-known bubble players didn’t make the cut. Count receiver Greg Little and safety Brandian Ross among them. Some players earned the right to stay on this roster, including receiver Brice Butler and linebacker Kaelin Burnett.

This unit will certainly change over the next week as waiver claims are made from other teams. You also have heard the last of released young players, who could return on the practice squad:

Here’s the Raiders 53-man roster (for now):

Receivers (5)
Rod Streater
James Jones
Denarius Moore
Andre Holmes
Brice Butler

Offensive tackles (3)
Donald Penn
Menelik Watson
Matt McCants

Guards (5)
Khalif Barnes
Austin Howard
Gabe Jackson
Kevin Boothe
Tony Bergstrom

Centers (1)
Stefen Wisniewski

Tight ends (3)
Mychal Rivera
David Ausberry
Brian Leonhardt

Quarterbacks (3)
Matt Schaub
Derek Carr
Matt McGloin

Running backs (3)
Darren McFadden
Maurice Jones-Drew
Latavius Murray

Fullbacks (2)
Marcel Reece
Jamize Olawale

Defensive end (4)
LaMarr Woodley
Justin Tuck
CJ Wilson
Shelby Harris

Defensive tackles (4)
Pat Sims
Stacy McGee
Antonio Smith
Justin Ellis

Outside linebacker (5)
Khalil Mack
Sio Moore
Miles Burris
Kaluka Maiava
Kaelin Burnett

Middle linebacker (1)
Nick Roach

Cornerbacks (7)
Tarell Brown
Carlos Rogers
Chimdi Chekwa
Taiwan Jones
TJ Carrie
Keith McGill
Neiko Thorpe

Safety (4)
Charles Woodson
Tyvon Branch
Usama Young
Jonahthan Dowling

Specialists (3)
K Sebastian Janikowski
LS Jon Condo
P Marquette King