Raiders depth chart: Moore above Burris at weakside LB

Raiders depth chart: Moore above Burris at weakside LB
August 4, 2014, 3:00 pm
Share This Post

Sio Moore started 11 games at strongside LB last season, while Miles Burris made 15 starts at weakside LB in 2012. (USATI)

related content

There is no data to display.

Programming note: For comprehensive Raiders coverage from Napa, tune in to SportsNet Central tonight at 6, 10:30 and midnight on Comcast SportsNet Bay Area.

NAPA – Weakside linebacker Miles Burris has taken most snaps with the first-team defense. The effort didn’t put him atop the depth chart.

That spot belongs to Sio Moore, who has been fighting with Burris for reps throughout camp.

The hierarchy was revealed on Monday afternoon, when the Raiders released their first depth chart of the preseason. Head coach Dennis Allen will surely downplay the depth chart's significance at this point in camp, with some cause. There is plenty of time for mobility during the preseason. But it does give some insight into how the players are ranked. 

There were few surprises on the document, though the order was shuffled in some spots:

-- Veteran receiver James Jones was listed on the second string despite the fact he’s expected to lead the position group in production.

-- The Raiders have searched far and wide for kickoff and punt return men, and the depth chart showed who is leading those packs. TJ Carrie is listed as the top punt returner, with receiver Denarius Moore behind him. Taiwan Jones is No. 1 among kickoff returners, Darren McFadden and Latavius Murray behind him.

[RELATED: Carrie continues to shine on defense, special teams]

The experiment with Maurice Jones-Drew may be over. He is not listed among the return men despite taking some reps there early in camp.

Here’s a complete look at the Raiders depth chart:

WR: Andre Holmes, James Jones, Denarius Moore, Brice Butler, Mike Davis, Rahsaan Vaughn
LT: Donald Penn, Jack Cornell, Erle Ladson
LG: Khalif Barnes, Gabe Jackson, Lamar Mady
C: Stefen Wisniewski, Kevin Boothe, Jarrod Shaw
RG: Austin Howard, Tony Bergstrom, Emmett Cleary, Lucas Nix*
RT: Menelik Watson, Matt McCants, Dan Kistler
TE: David Ausberry, Mychal Rivera, Brian Leonhardy, Nick Kasa, Jake Murphy, Scott Simonson

[BAIR: Raiders TE Rivera playing with 'swagger']

WR: Rod Streater, Greg Little, Juron Criner, Greg Jenkins, Seth Roberts
QB: Matt Schaub, Derek Carr, Matt McGloin, Trent Edwards
RB: Maurice Jones-Drew, Darren McFadden, Latavius Murray, Jeremy Stewart, Kory Sheets, George Atkinson III
FB: Marcel Reece, Jamize Olawale, Karl Williams

RE: LaMarr Woodley, Shelby Harris, Ryan Robinson
DT: Antonio Smith, Stacy McGee, Ricky Lumpkin
NT: Pat Sims, Justin Ellis, Torell Troup
LE: Justin Tuck, C.J. Wilson, Jack Crawford, Denico Autry
WLB: Sio Moore, Miles Burris, Carlos Fields
MLB: Nick Roach, Kaluka Maiava, Bojay Filimoeatu, Marshall McFadden
SLB: Khalil Mack, Kaelin Burnett, Justin Cole
RCB: Tarell Brown, Chimdi, Chekwa, Neiko Thorpoe, Keith McGill, Chance Casey
LCB: Carlos Rogers, DJ Hayden, TJ Carrie, Taiwan Jones, Jansen Watson
FS: Charles Woodson, Brandian Ross, Jeremy Deering
SS: Tyvon Branch, Usama Young, Jonathan Dowling, Shelton Johnson

P: Marquette King, Michael Palardy
K: Sebastian Janikowski, Michael Palardy
H: Marquette King
LS: Jon Condo, Stefen Wisniewski
KR: Taiwan Jones, Darren McFadden, Latavius Murray, George Atkinson III, Kory Sheets
PR: TJ Carrie, Denarius Moore, Greg Jenkins, Mike Davis, Kory Sheets