Raiders' Reece earns Second-Team All-Pro honors

Reece: 'It's going to be long, frustrating offseason'

Raiders' Reece earns Second-Team All-Pro honors
January 3, 2014, 9:30 am
Share This Post

Marcel Reece's two rushing touchdowns doubled his production over the first four years of his Raiders career. (USATSI)

The honors keep rolling in for an underutilized fullback who made the most of limited touches. The Associated Press named Raiders veteran Marcel Reece a Second-Team All-Pro on Friday, a week after being named to the Pro Bowl.

Being named to the Pro Bowl is an honor watered down by players who frequently back out -- or are forced to by making the Super Bowl -- and allow less deserving access to the NFL’s all-star game.

[RELATED: Reece named to second straight Pro Bowl]

There are no changes to the All-Pro team, which is reserved for the best of the best in a given year. The All-Pro selection is Reece’s first.

Carolina’s Mike Tolbert was the First-Team fullback. He’s an excellent blocker, but stacked up 545 yards total offense and seven touchdowns in 128 touches.

Reece still had more yards (549) on just 78 touches. He also had four touchdowns.

There’s an outlier in Reece’s game logs, due to an injury plague at tailback before the Dec. 8 game at the New York Jets.

The Raiders were forced to make Reece a feature player, and he responded with a stellar performance. He had 123 yards and a touchdown on 19 carries and two receptions for 38 yards.

If not for that game, Reece would’ve averaged just 3.8 touches per game. By contrast, Tolbert averaged eight touches per contest.

That will certainly leave Raider Nation wondering what the converted receiver could’ve done with the extra opportunities, even if they were traditional carries.

That carry total was hindered by stout rushing from tailback Rashad Jennings and in no way reflected the team’s desire to get Reece involved.

The Raiders clearly recognize Reece’s value as a playmaker, as evidenced by the four-year, $12.45 million contract he signed during the season.


The Associated Press 2013 NFL All-Pro team selected by a national panel of 50 media members:

Quarterback: Peyton Manning, Denver. 
Running Backs: LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City. 
Fullback: Mike Tolbert, Carolina. 
Tight End: Jimmy Graham, New Orleans. 
Wide Receivers: Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Josh Gordon, Cleveland. 
Tackles: Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Jason Peters, Philadelphia. 
Guards: Louis Vasquez, Denver; Evan Mathis, Philadelphia. 
Center: Ryan Kalil, Carolina. 
Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore. 
Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota.

Ends: J.J. Watt, Houston; Robert Quinn, St. Louis. 
Tackles: Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit. 
Outside Linebackers: Robert Mathis, Indianapolis; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay. 
Inside Linebacker: Luke Kuechly, Carolina; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco. 
Cornerbacks: Richard Sherman, Seattle; Patrick Peterson, Arizona. 
Safeties: Earl Thomas, Seattle; Eric Berry, Kansas City. 
Punter: Johnny Hekker, St. Louis.

Quarterback None. 
Running Backs: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Eddie Lacy, Green Bay. 
Fullback: Marcel Reece, Oakland. 
Tight End: Vernon Davis, San Francisco. 
Wide Receivers: A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Demaryius Thomas, Denver, and Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh. 
Tackles: Tyron Smith, Dallas; Joe Staley, San Francisco. 
Guards: Jahri Evans, New Orleans; Logan Mankins, New England, and Josh Sitton, Green Bay. 
Center: Alex Mack, Cleveland. 
Placekicker: Matt Prater, Denver. 
Kick Returner: Dexter McCluster, Kansas City.

Ends: Mario Williams, Buffalo; Greg Hardy, Carolina. 
Tackles: Dontari Poe, Kansas City; Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets, Jurrell Casey, Tennessee, and Justin Smith, San Francisco. 
Outside Linebackers: Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco. 
Inside Linebackers: Vontaze Burfict, Cincinnati; Karlos Dansby, Arizona. 
Cornerbacks: Aqib Talib, New England; Joe Haden, Cleveland, and Alterraun Verner, Tennessee. 
Safeties: Eric Weddle, San Diego; Kam Chancellor, Seattle, Jairus Byrd, Buffalo, T.J. Ward, Cleveland, Devin McCourty, New England, and Antrel Rolle, New York Giants. 
Punter: Brandon Fields, Miami.