Three SaberCats named AFL Hall of Fame finalists

June 18, 2011, 2:00 am
Share This Post

June 17, 2011

TULSA, Okla. After tallying the nominationssent in by the AFL Hall of Fame Advisory Board, ten finalists remain for the2011 AFL Hall of Fame Class. Thisis arguably the most decorated group of players, executives and coaches everinvolved in the Arena Football League. Im pleased to a part of the selectionprocess for the 2011 AFL Hall of Fame Class, AFL Commissioner Jerry B. Kurzsaid. 2011Hall of Fame Finalists include: San Jose SaberCats HEAD COACH DARREN ARBET, two-time Coach of the Year (2000, 2002)and owner of three ArenaBowl titles with San Jose (2002, 2004, 2007); two-time ArenaBowlChampion with the Tampa Bay Storm and three-time First Team All-Arena(1990-92), OLDL SYLVESTER BEMBERY; WR EDDIE BROWN, ranked the GreatestPlayer in AFL History by the AFL Historical Committee, and three-time OffensivePlayer of the Year (1994, 1996, 1999); WRLBHUNKIE COOPER, two-time Ironman of the Year award winner (1999-00) and AFLMVP (1993); OLDL SAM HERNANDEZ, theAFLs all-time sack leader with 59; OSGEORGE LaFRANCE, five-time ArenaBowl Champion (Detroit, 3; Tampa Bay, 2),two-time MVP (1989, 1991) and two-time Offensive Player of the Year (1989,1991); Chicago Rush PRESIDENTGM GENENUDO, AFL Founders Award Winner (2002) and three-time League Executive ofthe Year (1997, 1999, 2000) with Arizona; WRLBSTEVIE THOMAS, four-time ArenaBowl Champion with the Storm who recorded7,892 receiving yards and 111 tackles in his 10-year career; WRDB BARRY WAGNER, ranked as thesecond Greatest Player in AFL History by the AFL Historical Committee andsix-time Ironman of the Year winner (1992-97); and QB KURT WARNER, AFL Founders Award winner (2006), finishing his AFLcareer with 10,465 passing yards and 183 touchdowns. TheAFL League Office received ballots from the Hall of Fame Advisory Board onWednesday, June 15, consisting of a rich list of journalists and executiveswith a long-time involvement in the game. Eachmember selected ten candidates based on AFL contribution in the categories ofplayers, coaches, administrators, officials and at-large. Fansand current Hall of Fame members will vote on the finalists beginning onMonday, June 20. Votes will then be turned in to the Hall of Fame OperatingBoard of Directors. Inorder to be nominated for the 2011 Hall of Fame Class, candidates must have metfour criteria. If a player was active before 1989, he must have played for twoseasons. For players after 1989, three seasons of service are required. Allplayers must be retired for three complete seasons (last year 2007). Coachesmust have been active for a minimum of five seasons and need not be retired. The2011 Hall of Fame Class, which could arguably be the greatest class ever, willbe announced during ArenaBowl XXIV weekend at the site of ArenaBowl andinducted during the 2012 season opener. This will be the first AFL Hall of Fameclass inducted since 2002.
Courtesy San Jose SaberCats media services

More Team Talk

There is no data to display.