ST. LOUIS There were already three interference penalties in Game 1 of the Sharks-Blues series on Thursday night, and there may have been a fourth on Marty Havlats goal in double overtime.
Controlling the puck along the boards, Logan Couture dumped it down low to Ryane Clowe. Couture immediately charged towards the corner, when he collided with the Blues Vladimir Sobotka, who was trying to defend Clowe. That gave Clowe plenty of time to set up Havlat between the circles for a one-timer that gave the Sharks an exciting victory in the playoff opener.
If Couture thought he deserved a penalty on the play, he wasnt admitting it afterwards.
Clowie was yelling for it, I went towards the puck, and Sobotka ran into me so it created a little hole for Marty, Couture said. He made a great shot. Thats a nice win for us.
Could that have been considered an illegal pick?
Im going towards the puck into the corner, trying to get it if Clowie reverses it. Hes standing there, he runs into me, I run into him, so
Referees Kevin Pollock and Kelly Sutherland didnt call a single penalty after regulation.
Clowe hadnt seen a replay of the goal before speaking with the media postgame, but said: Its probably tough to call a pick at that time. I had a little bit of room there, so maybe he did pick the guy.
The Sharks and Blues each finished the night 1-for-3 on the power play.