NHL cites 'intent to blow' rule in defending no-goal call

Sharks robbed of game-winning goal

NHL cites 'intent to blow' rule in defending no-goal call
November 6, 2013, 10:30 am
Share This Post

Tommy Wingels' apparent goal in overtime was waved off and the Sharks went on to lose in a shootout. (CSN)

ProHockeyTalk

Programming note: Next Sharks game -- Canucks-Sharks coverage kicks off Thursday at 7 p.m with Sharks Pregame Live on Comcast SportsNet California

The referees got it right last night in San Jose, according to the NHL’s department of hockey operations.

Senior VP Mike Murphy, in speaking with CBC’s Elliotte Friedman, said referee Mike Leggo made the correct call in overtime on Tommy Wingels' shot — which looked to cross the line well before the whistle — under rule 78.5, the infamous “intent to blow” rule.

“Leggo waves it off when the puck hits the post and starts to come to the net as a scramble develops. [In the NHL's video review room in Toronto] we’re still looking at the puck off the post, then see the play with Leggo approaching net, putting the whistle in his mouth and he waves aggressively,” Murphy explained.

“Had we called a goal against Buffalo it would have been wrong, because it shouldn’t have been a goal.”

READ MORE ON PROHOCKEYTALK.com