Clippers' Jamal Crawford wins NBA Sixth Man Award

Clippers' Jamal Crawford wins NBA Sixth Man Award
May 8, 2014, 10:00 am
Share This Post

Jamal Crawford averaged 16.7 points in 24.1 minutes per game against the Warriors in this year's playoffs. (USATSI)

LOS ANGELES -- Jamal Crawford of the Los Angeles Clippers won the NBA Sixth Man Award on Thursday, becoming the oldest recipient and the first to do so with different teams.

The 34-year-old guard also was honored as the league's best player off the bench while with the Atlanta Hawks in 2009-10.

No Warriors players received any votes.

Crawford led the league's reserve players in scoring this season, averaging 18.6 points. He came off the bench in 45 of 69 games he played in, helping the Clippers to a 57-25 record, their best regular-season mark in franchise history.

[RELATED: Warriors-Clippers central]

The Clippers had a 31-14 record when Crawford came off the bench this season. The Clippers and Oklahoma City are 1-1 in their Western Conference semifinal.

"I actually think he won it because I think voters saw him doing other things for the team - playing defense, running the team at the point guard position when Chris Paul was out at times," Clippers coach Doc Rivers said last week, when The Associated Press first reported that Crawford had won. "He's been the perfect utility player for a team. He's been awesome."

[RELATED: Durant wins MVP, Curry sixth]

Crawford set the single-season franchise record for 3-pointers made with 161. That surpassed his record from last season, his first in Los Angeles, when he was runner-up for the Sixth Man award.

Crawford received 57 first-place votes and 421 total points from a panel of 125 sports writers and broadcasters throughout the U.S. and Canada. He joined Kevin McHale, Ricky Pierce and Detlef Schrempf as two-time winners.

Taj Gibson of Chicago finished second with 395 points and San Antonio's Manu Ginobili was third with 138.


          Player               Team        1st Place (5 pts)  2nd Place (3 Pts)   3rd Place (1 Pt)  Total Points

Jamal Crawford       L.A. Clippers           57                       41                          13                    421

Taj Gibson                Chicago                    49                       45                          15                    395

Manu Ginobili          San Antonio             9                         20                          33                    138

Markieff Morris       Phoenix                    5                         10                          30                    85

Reggie Jackson        Oklahoma City         4                         4                            17                    49

Vince Carter             Dallas                       1                         1                            4                      12

D.J. Augustin           Chicago                    --                         2                            --                      6

Enes Kanter             Utah                         --                         1                            --                      3

Dion Waiters            Cleveland                 --                         1                            --                      3

Nick Young             L.A. Lakers              --                         --                            3                      3

Chris Andersen        Miami                       --                         --                            2                      2

Marco Belinelli         San Antonio             --                         --                            2                      2

Andray Blatche        Brooklyn                  --                         --                            1                      1

Tim Hardaway Jr.    New York                --                         --                            1                      1

Patty Mills                San Antonio             --                         --                            1                      1

Timofey Mozgov     Denver                     --                         --                            1                      1

Greivis Vasquez       Toronto                    --                         --                            1                      1

Mo Williams             Portland                   --                         --                            1                      1


1982-83 Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86 Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88 Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89 Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93 Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94 Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95 Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96 Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97 John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98 Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99 Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-00 Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01 Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02 Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03 Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings
2003-04 Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks
2004-05 Ben Gordon, Chicago Bulls
2005-06 Mike Miller, Memphis Grizzlies
2006-07 Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix Suns
2007-08 Manu Ginobili, San Antonio Spurs
2008-09 Jason Terry, Dallas Mavericks
2009-10 Jamal Crawford, Atlanta Hawks
2010-11 Lamar Odom, Los Angeles Lakers
2011-12 James Harden, Oklahoma City Thunder
2012-13 J.R. Smith, New York Knicks
2013-14 Jamal Crawford, Los Angeles Clippers

The Associated Press and NBA media services contributed to this report