Popovich wins Coach of the Year, Jackson receives one vote

Popovich wins Coach of the Year, Jackson receives one vote
April 22, 2014, 12:15 pm
Share This Post

2013-14 marked the 15th consecutive season that Gregg Popovich’s Spurs posted 50 or more wins. (USATSI)

San Antonio Spurs coach Gregg Popovich was named NBA coach of the year on Tuesday, making him just the third coach in league history to win the Red Auerbach trophy three times in his career. Popovich’s Spurs posted the league’s best record at 62-20 (.756), which provides them with homecourt advantage throughout the postseason. 

He totaled 380 points, including 59 first-place votes, from a panel of 124 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote. Golden State Warriors head coach Mark Jackson received one vote.  The last Warriors head coach to win the award was Don Nelson during the '91-92 season.

Popovich has received the league's top coaching honor in two of the last three seasons, joining Don Nelson and Pat Riley as the only coaches to win the award three times. 

Following are the balloting results for the 2013-14 NBA Coach of the Year award and the all-time list of winners: 

Coach, Team 1st  2nd 3rd Pts
Gregg Popovich, San Antonio 59 23 16 380
Jeff Hornacek, Phoenix 37 44 22 339
Tom Thibodeau, Chicago  12 22 33 159
Steve Clifford, Charlotte 8 21 24 127
Dwane Casey, Toronto 5 9 18 70
Terry Stotts, Portland 2 3 6 25
Doc Rivers, L.A. Clippers 1 2 2 13
Scott Brooks, Oklahoma City  0 0 1 1
Mark Jackson, Golden State  0 0 1 1
Jason Kidd, Brooklyn 0 0 1 1

The Associated Press contributed to this report


More Team Talk