49ers announce honorary captains for NFC title game

49ers announce honorary captains for NFC title game
January 17, 2013, 4:30 pm
Share This Post

Bryant Young will be one of three honorary captains for the NFC Champsionship game against the Atlanta Falcons on Sunday. (USA TODAY IMAGES)

Former 49ers' owner Edward J. DeBartolo Jr. and players Charles Haley and Bryant Young have been chosen as honorary captains during the coin toss prior to Sunday's NFC Championship game against the Atlanta Falcons, the team announced Thursday.

DeBartolo Jr. captured 13 division titles and a 22-11 postseason record in his 23 seasons as owner, helping the 49ers become the first team in NFL with five Super Bowl championships. The 49ers reached the playoffs 16 times in DeBartolo's final 18 years with the team, posting a 207-72-1 regular season record. DeBartolo is a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. 

Charles Haley won two Super Bowls with the 49ers and ranks second in team history with 66.5 sacks. He was selected by the 49ers as the 96th overall pick in the 1986 NFL Draft. The five-time Super Bowl Champion finished his career with the 49ers in 1999 after a five-year tenure with the Dallas Cowboys. 

Bryant Young was selected seventh overall by the 49ers in the 1994 NFL Draft and spent his entire 14-year career in San Francisco. He started in 208 games in his career, second to only Jerry Rice in team history. Young finished his career with 89.5 sacks, 11 forced fumbles and seven fumble recoveries. The 49ers reached the playoffs in each of his first five seasons, including a victory in Super Bowl XXIX during his rookie year. 

Sunday's game in Atlanta kicks off at Noon PST. 

49ers media services contributed to this report

More Team Talk