Doolittle wins 2013 Dave Stewart Award

Doolittle wins 2013 Dave Stewart Award
September 17, 2013, 11:30 am
Share This Post

Dave Stewart will present Sean Doolittle with the award prior to Wednesday’s 12:35 p.m. game against the Angels. (USA TODAY IMAGES)

OAKLAND -- Oakland A’s relief pitcher Sean Doolittle has been named the recipient of the 2013 Dave Stewart Community Service Award, which is given annually to an A’s player in recognition of charitable contributions throughout Northern California and across the nation.

Stewart will present Doolittle with the award prior to Wednesday’s 12:35 p.m. game against the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim in a special on-field ceremony at approximately 12:23 p.m.

For the last two years, Doolittle has supported numerous local and national charities, including Freedom Alliance, an educational and charitable organization that supports and honors our military service members and their families. He has visited and supported veterans at the VA Hospital in Palo Alto, Calif., and Walter Reed Hospital in Washington, D.C. He also has donated numerous signed items for Memorial Day and Fourth of July silent auctions, which led to a $5,000 donation to Freedom Alliance.

Along with other A’s relievers, Doolittle created the A’s Relief program, which honors local heroes in the community with a monthly donation to a charity of each recipient’s choice. He has recorded public service announcements for GovX, the largest military and government exclusive ecommerce site which offers ticket discounts to military members and first responders. He also has supported the A’s Community Fund at various events, including the inaugural Bowling Bash, which raised more than $20,000 for the fund.

The Dave Stewart Community Service Award originated in 1996 in honor of Stewart’s many years of community service in the Bay Area. Throughout the years, Stewart has been involved in many non-profit organizations including the Oakland Boys & Girls Club and Team-Up for Youth, a program that supports healthy development for young people living in low income communities through after-school sports and physical activity programs.

Dave Stewart Community Service Award Winners
1996    Ernie Young
1997    Scott Spiezio
1998    Tom Candiotti
1999    Art Howe
2000    Jason Giambi
2001    Terrence Long
2002    Tim Hudson
2003    Scott Hatteberg
2004    Eric Chavez
2005    Barry Zito
2006    Mark Kotsay
2007    Mark Ellis
2008    Dana Eveland
2009    Dallas Braden
           Kurt Suzuki
2010    Craig Breslow
2011    Josh Willingham
2012    Jonny Gomes
2013    Sean Doolittle