Kuiper, King among 10 Ford C. Frick finalists

Kuiper, King among 10 Ford C. Frick finalists
October 2, 2013, 9:15 am
Share This Post

Duane Kuiper and Bill King boast 53 combined years of professional sports broadcasting. (AP)

The 10 finalists for the 2014 Ford C. Frick Award were announced on Wednesday, and the Bay Area has two representatives; late A's broadcaster Bill King and Giants broadcaster Duane Kuiper are both on the ballot.

The Ford C. Frick Award has been presented annually since 1978 by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum for excellence in baseball broadcasting. Annual winners are announced as part of the Baseball Winter Meetings each year, while awardees are presented with their honor the following summer during Hall of Fame Weekend in Cooperstown, New York.

[RATTO: It's Bill King's time]

The museum website provided bios for each of the 10 finalists.

King's bio:
25 years (A’s. 1981-2005), all with the A’s as the lead radio play-by-play man, and retired…Has spent five decades thrilling fans with his vivid descriptions of some of the most historical moments in the annals of three of the Bay Area’s major sports franchises – the San Francisco/Golden State Warriors, the Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders and the A’s…Was stationed on the island of Guam at the end of World War II when he began his broadcasting career with the Armed Forces Radio Network…Launched his sportscasting career in the late 1940’s in Pekin, Ill., broadcasting minor league baseball, along with high school football and basketball games…Passed away Oct. 18, 2005.

Kuiper's bio:
28 years (Giants, 1985, 1987-92, 94- ; Rockies, 1993), 26 with the Giants including the last 18, currently, in the Comcast SportsNet Bay Area and KNBR Radio broadcast booths…Received the first Bay Area Emmy award of his distinguished broadcasting career in the category of “On Camera Sports” in 1999, and won the prestigious award a second time in 2001…Has won a total of seven Emmy Awards… Spent 11 seasons in the majors as an infielder, the last four years with the Giants, following seven with the Cleveland Indians…After retiring in 1985 provided commentary on Giants radio broadcasts through the end of that season.

Ford C. Frick Award winners

1978 Mel Allen, Red Barber
1979 Bob Elson
1980 Russ Hodges
1981 Ernie Harwell
1982 Vin Scully
1983 Jack Brickhouse
1984 Curt Gowdy
1985 Buck Canel
1986 Bob Prince
1987 Jack Buck
1988 Lindsey Nelson
1989 Harry Caray
1990 By Saam
1991 Joe Garagiola
1992 Milo Hamilton
1993 Chuck Thompson
1994 Bob Murphy
1995 Bob Wolff
1996 Herb Carneal
1997 Jimmy Dudley
1998 Jaime Jarrin
1999 Arch McDonald
2000 Marty Brennaman
2001 Felo Ramirez
2002 Harry Kalas
2003 Bob Uecker
2004 Lon Simmons
2005 Jerry Coleman
2006 Gene Elston
2007 Denny Matthews
2008 Dave Niehaus
2009 Tony Kubek
2010 Jon Miller
2011 Dave Van Horne
2012 Tim McCarver
2013 Tom Cheek

More Team Talk