Raiders WR Brown a Hall finalist; Hayes, Guy denied

January 9, 2011, 8:08 pm
Share This Post

Jan. 9, 2011RAIDERS PAGE RAIDERS VIDEOPaul Gutierrez

Former Raiders receiver Tim Brown was announced as one of 15 modern-era finalists for Hall of Fame consideration Sunday morning.

Two other former Raiders who were semifinalists, though, did not make the cut -- punter Ray Guy, a member of all three Raiders Super Bowl-winning teams, and cornerback Lester Hayes, who won two Super Bowls.

Brown was a finalist last January in his first eligible year. He was the Raiders first-round pick in 1988 out of Notre Dame, where he won the Heisman Trophy, and played with the Raiders through 2003.

NEWS: 49ers DeBartolo, Craig don't make Hall cut

After a final season in Tampa Bay, he retired as the NFLs third all-time leading receiver with 1,094 receptions. His 14,934 receiving yards ranked second. His 100 touchdown catches were third. Having returned punts earlier in his career, Brown also retired ranking fifth in career combined net yardage with 19,682 yards.

There are two other wide receiver finalists -- Chris Carter and Andre Reed -- and a tight end in Shannon Sharpe.

Further clogging Browns path to Canton are five first-year eligible players in running backs Jerome Bettis, Marshall Faulk and Curtis Martin, cornerback Deion Sanders and offensive tackle Willie Roaf.

The rest of the finalists -- center Dermontti Dawson, defensive end Richard Dent, defensive endlinebackers Chris Doleman and Charles Haley, defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy and NFL Films founder Ed Sabol. Linebackers Chris Hanburger and Les Richter are the two senior nominees.
RELATED: NFL news scoreboard

Hall rules stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year.

The Hall of Fame class of 2011 will be announced at 4 p.m. on Feb. 5, the day before Super Bowl XLV in Arlington, Texas.