Posey named 'Willie Mac' award winner

September 22, 2012, 2:27 am
Share This Post

Buster Posey has been named the Giants' "Willie Mac" Award winner, the team announced prior to Friday's game against the Padres.

The Willie McCovey Award is given out once a year to the most inspirational player on the team, and Posey received a plaque before the game engraved with the words "Competitive Spirit, Ability and Leadership."

Posey has bounced back this season, after suffering a season-ending leg injury in 2011 that resulted from a home plate collision with Miami Marlins outfielder Scott Cousins.

RELATED: Bochy commends Melky Cabrera, Posey skirts question

Posey is a viable candidate for National League MVP this season, batting .335 with 95 RBI and 23 home runs. Since the All-Star break, he has hit .392 with 52 RBI and 13 home runs.

He is just the sixth Giants catcher to win the award, joining Bob Brenly (1984), Kirt Manwaring (1993), Benito Santiago (2001), Mike Matheny (2005) and Bengie Molina (2007, 2008).

Ryan Vogelsong won the award in 2011.

More Team Talk