NBA admits referees made mistake in ejecting Griffin

Bogut and Griffin scuffle leads to ejection

NBA admits referees made mistake in ejecting Griffin
December 26, 2013, 1:30 pm
Share This Post

The Warriors took advantage of a Clipper team that lost Blake Griffin to an erroneous ejection on Christmas. (USATSI)

The Warriors' win over the Clippers on Christmas included a Blake Griffin vs. Andrew Bogut dust-up that led to the Clippers star getting ejected. A day later, the NBA released a statement admitting that the referees made a mistake in the aftermath of the scuffle.

“After a league review of the Clippers-Warriors game, we have come to the conclusion that Blake Griffin should not have been ejected from the game. A common foul should have been called on Griffin for initially attempting to dislodge the Warriors’ Andrew Bogut and a technical foul should have been assessed to Bogut for grabbing Griffin by the shirt and wrestling with him.”

After Griffin's ejection, the Warriors went on to win 105-103 and even the season series with the Clippers at one win apiece.

More Team Talk