Refs missed foul call in Warriors-Clippers

Refs missed foul call in Warriors-Clippers
April 20, 2014, 12:00 pm
Share This Post

In Game 1, Chris Paul made 50% (3-of-6) of his free throws. Draymond Green finished with seven points and seven rebounds. (AP)

LOS ANGELES --The NBA says referees missed a foul call late in the Warriors' Game 1 win that would have given the Clippers a chance to tie the score.

[INSTANT REPLAY: Warriors fend off Clippers for Game 1 win]

Los Angeles point guard Chris Paul lost the ball out of bounds with 18.9 seconds left Saturday and Golden State leading 107-105. Rod Thorn, the league's president for basketball operations, said in a statement Sunday that the Warriors' Draymond Green should have been whistled for a foul, which would have given Paul two free throws.

Instead, Golden State got the ball and went on to win 109-105 in LA to open their first-round playoff series.

Officials reviewed the video after the ball went out of bounds and awarded possession to the Warriors. Thorn says that decision was correct, but the foul was missed moments earlier. Referees are not allowed to check for fouls when they use replay.

[REWIND: Jackson, Warriors make rousing opening statement]


More Team Talk